Hello,

some days ago I was cleaning up some old kernels that I had on my openSUSE installation and, then at point, I deleted by mistake the files on /lib/modules/4.1.12-1-default/.* which contains nvidia.ko, nvidia-modeset.ko, nvidia-uvm.ko and some other files.

After that, when I restarted my computer I had no graphics. I would get an error when the login screen should appear. Thankfully I was able to to switch to the terminal(s) [ctrl-alt{1-6}] and ctrl-alt-7 for the “graphic terminal” which would be the regular one.

I tried then to uninstall nvidia’s modules following the openSUSE guide for nvidia drivers but no luck. Nothing was happening when I disabled the repository and refreshed them through zypper. I also try to play with the blacklisted drivers in /etc/modprobe.d/.* and got to nowhere. Next thing I did is to search why and how the “> startx” would fail. Still at this I was working from the terminal, without any GUI yet, note there where a lot of attempts and reboots.

Finally, what fix the problem I caused to myself was to, manually uninstall the nvidia packages that they still existed in the system, reboot and many hours lost for no reason.

 > #This is the magic command when working
 > #with openSUSE and nvidia and something goes wrong
 > sudo zypper rm nvidia-computeG04 nvidia-gfxG04-kmp-default
 > sudo zypper rm nvidia-glG04 x11-video-nvidiaG04

I hope this doesn’t happen to anyone else, if it happens that he or she will find this article fast.

 

[update 05/09/2016]: There is not easy solution for this, I might had be able to get the graphics back but I was experiencing a lot of crashes so I would suggest you to make a clean installation. I ended up doing a clean installation 😦

 

Wish you the best

— flanaras

